frugality · homeschooling · Reviews

Book Review: “Green Clean” by Lisa Mason Hunter and Mikki Halpin

greenclean-cover

I enjoy reading about green and sustainable living as much as I enjoy writing about it. There are so many resources available these days. This book is one I picked up at a sell at my local library a few years ago* but since it’s been helpful to me, I thought it would be nice to share with others who are looking for resources on these subjects.

This book is a decent guide to using green products to clean your home and improve your health. I particularly enjoyed the homemade recipes for nontoxic versions of all types of home cleaning products. I also liked the cleaning checklists that tell you what to clean on a daily, weekly, monthly and so on basis so that your house stays clean. It also gave projected prices and brand names of environmentally friendly products. At this point, the prices are a bit out of date, but I’m sure most of the names and where to buy are still the same. The idea of printing the book on waterproof stain resistant material was also good. You can have it right next to you in the kitchen or bathroom to reference when making one of the cleaning recipes.

The major weaknesses of the text, I think are the writing tone and the organization of the information. The text was quite informative, but I felt like I was reading a text book. The author didn’t really seem to have a voice. I like informative writing but it is easier to digest if the author injects a little personality now and again. As far as the organization, the information was organized by room. There was a section for the kitchen, bathroom and so on. The reason I didn’t like this, is because it would require a lot of flipping back and forth, for example, if you were trying to clean your house and you wanted the checklist of daily cleaning, you’d have to go to each individual chapter to find what tasks you should be doing in each room during the day. The recipes were referred to often in the book but they were not given until the very end of the book, so that would require more flipping to find the specific recipe to clean the specific thing in the specific room you were aiming for. My final problem with this text is while it does a good job of telling you how to be green, it doesn’t really tell you why. It mentions that its good for the environment, and people often get sick from toxic chemicals, but how are they getting sick? What causes it? And how are these chemicals bad for the environment? What do they do exactly?If I was trying to convince someone to adopt a greener lifestyle, these are things they would want to know. A small for those who have already made the switch, a lot of the information, while useful to dabblers like me, may be a bit too basic for them.

My Rating: B

Overall, the book is a useful reference and worth looking into, although it will require a lot of flipping back and forth. Reading it straight through would probably bore most people but the homemade cleaner recipes alone make it a good reference to have.

 

*this review is adapted from my original review on Goodreads.com

Leave a Reply

